MINUTES Of the Special Called Meeting, of The Claiborne Parish Police Jury 2:00 pm June 18, 2020 Police Jury Chambers 507 West Main Street Homer, LA 71040

## **\*\*\*NOTICE\*\*\*** - The Claiborne Parish Police Jury humbly requests that if you have a fever, shortness of breath or other cold or flu-like symptoms that you do not attend this public meeting. Minutes of the meeting will be available and posted on line at www.claiborneparish.org

The Claiborne Parish Police Jury met in a legal, duly posted and called Special Session in the Jury Chambers of the Claiborne Parish Police Jury Complex, located at 507 West Main Street in Homer, LA at 2:00 pm. on Thursday, the 18th of June 2020. On being called to order by President, Scott Davidson, the following Jurors were present:

James Laird, Mark Furlow, Kevin Gray, Mary McDaniel, Paul Cook, Joseph Merritt, Tommy Sanders, Gil Dowies, and Rev. Willie Young.

There were 11 others present - Claiborne Parish Secretary-Treasurer Dwayne Woodard, Chief Deputy Brian Driscol of CPSO, Director of Libraries Pam Suggs, Second Judicial District A Judge Jenifer Clason, Mr. Andy Davis and Mr. Vince Ory of the Claiborne Parish Library, Ms. Beverly Smith (local historian) of Homer, Bill and Kathy Hightower of the Guardian Journal Newspaper, and Ms. Yolanda Coleman of the Haynesville Independent.

The Special Called Meeting was called to order by President Scott Davidson.

Rev. Willie Young opened the meeting with prayer, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance by Paul Cook.

Upon motion by Gil Dowies, duly seconded by Mark Furlow, the Jury unanimously approved the Agenda as presented.

## **REGULAR AGENDA:**

At this time, President Scott Davidson read the letter of request from the Sons of Confederate Veterans asking permission from the Jury to allow for the removal of the Confederate Memorial Monument belonging to and placed on the Courthouse lawn by them and dedicated in May of 1940.

At this time, President Scott Davidson opened the floor for Public Comment on allowing for removal of the monument. There were numerous individuals who informed those in attendance of our Parish's history and about the monument itself.

As per the letter - "Due to the uncertain times, and concern for the safety of the monument, the Sons of the Confederate Veterans, wish to move the monument to an unknown location at this time."

Upon much discussion, the Jurors felt this was the best option to allow the return of the monument back to the original owners to protect it from anyone vandalizing it in the future.

Secretary-Treasurer Woodard reiterated to those in attendance that the Police Jury nor Parish own the monument, nor is it carried on their schedule of insured properties, they only provided the approval for the placement of the statue on a 3 ft x 3 ft plot on the southwest corner of the square.

Upon motion by Rev. Willie Young, duly seconded by Joseph Merritt, the Jury unanimously approved the letter of request from the Sons of the Confederate Veterans Claiborne Invincibles

Camp #797, received on June 16, 2020, to allow permission to remove the Confederate Soldier Monument, which is owned by the Sons of the Confederate Veterans Claiborne Invincibles Camp #797, from the Courthouse lawn.

Rev. Young wanted it notated that the Police Jury will the assist the group with the removal of the monument if need be (via use of manpower, equipment or financial consideration). \*\*\*Note - No Parish Funds, equipment or labor were used for the removal of the monument.

Mr. Bobby White and Mr. Mark Smith with the Sons of Confederate Veterans spoke on the Confederate War and what the monument represents, to them. They also voiced their concern about what is currently going on in our country against monuments of any kind, which brought them to this decision to request its removal to prevent future vandalism of this historic monument.

In closing they thanked the Jury for their consideration and fast action on this matter.

Upon motion by Gil Dowies, duly seconded by Mary McDaniel, the meeting was adjourned.

Dwayne R. Woodard Secretary–Treasurer Scott Davidson President